Dartmoor Society Award 2017

At the Dartmoor Society’s Annual General Meeting, held in Yelverton on 22 April, Chairman Dr Tom Greeves presented the Dartmoor Society Award 2017 to John Tuffnell, who received it on behalf of Kelly Mine Preservation Society

Tom Greeves said,
‘I first knew Kelly Mine in the early 1970s, when it was abandoned and likely to be lost for posterity, though much of its machinery then still remained intact. The Kelly Mine Preservation Society was formed
in 1984 by a small group of dedicated volunteers who, year in yearout since then, have carefully conserved and maintained what was there, so that it now remains as one of the finest examples of preserved rural industry in the country. It is absolutely typical of scores of small-scale Dartmoor mines that once existed, and is hugely valuable as an educational and historical resource.

The Dartmoor Society is full of admiration for their achievement, which is a superb example of sensitive conservation and research of an industrial site, and is without parallel within the Dartmoor region.’

The Award is in the form of a large ceramic plate made by potter Penny Simpson of Moretonhampstead and inscribed by calligrapher Susanne Haines.

The Dartmoor Society, established in 1998, is a Registered Charity (no. 1111066), with broadly educational aims. It is ‘an independent voice and forum for debate for those who find Dartmoor a source of livelihood or inspiration’. It has some 450 members.

The annual Dartmoor Society Award is given to individuals or groups who, in the opinion of the Society, have made a special contribution to Dartmoor.

Photo credited to The Dartmoor Society.